Host Country Agreement Asean

„The host country agreement sends an important message to the world about the importance that ASEAN member states attach to ASEAN. The agreement demonstrates the important role played by the Indonesian government in welcoming and facilitating the work of ASEAN and the ASEAN secretariat. „We very much appreciate the commitment of the Government of the Republic of Indonesia. In this regard, we welcome the conclusion and signing of this important agreement,“ said Dr Surin Pitsuwan, ASEAN Secretary General, after signing it. The host country agreement is the main legal instrument that embodies Indonesia`s ongoing commitment and support for ASEAN as host of the ASEAN secretariat in Jakarta. It establishes the obligations and responsibilities of the parties, as well as the privileges and immunities granted by the Indonesian government to ASEAN, including the secretariat, to enable it to effectively carry out its functions and operations. At the 18th ASEAN Summit on 8 May 2011, ASEAN heads of state and government adopted a joint declaration on the establishment of an ASEAN Institute for Peace and Reconciliation. The ASEAN-IPR mandate (TOR) was adopted at the 45th ASEAN Foreign Ministers` Meeting (MSA) in July 2012 and launched on 18 November 2012 by ASEAN heads of state and government at the 21st ASEAN Summit in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The ASEAN-IPR TOR also indicates that the Institute would act in accordance with the ASEAN Charter, and inspired by the principles of the Treaty of Friendship and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC), which provides that, Since its official creation in 2012, at the 21st ASEAN Summit in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, ASEAN officially elected its secretariat in October 2017, when Ambassador Rezlan Ishar Jenie was elected Executive Director of ASEAN-IPR as part of an open recruitment process. With the entry into force of the ASEAN Charter in 2008, the host country agreement replaces the previous agreement reached in 1979, which was concluded after a series of discussions and consultations between ASEAN and Indonesia.

(Source: ASEAN Directorate-General for Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia). Meanwhile, Indonesian Foreign Minister Dr R.M Marty M. Natalegawa said: „This is indeed an important opportunity that reflects the importance of ASEAN and the commitment that Indonesia and other ASEAN member states attach to the work of ASEAN.“ On 1 February 2018, the agreement between the Government of the Republic of Indonesia and ASEAN-ASEAN IPR on the admission and granting of privileges and immunities to ASEAN IPR (HostLand Agreement or HCA), signed by the Indonesian Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Chairman of the ECB`s Governing Council, was signed and recognises the legal and legal capacity of the institutions under the law of the Republic of Indonesia. Turkey was first invited to the ASEAN foreign ministers` meetings in 2013 as a guest of the ASEAN Presidency, Brunei. Former Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu, then foreign minister, attended the meeting.